Reading A Book or An Hour of Code?

Do you think philosophy is not your cup of tea or reading books too demanding? So why not coding? Go coding, I did it!

It is not so easy to explain to a bunch of students not to be afraid of computers. I mean. If we talk about computational thinking, they promptly think about super smart IT geek geniuses living somewhere in a real-virtual distant far away place, called Sylicon Valley, that are really fond of Maths.

But what is computational thinking? I won’t give here an academic definition. But it has none to do with computers. Just the reverse! The word Computer comes from the latin computare, to calculate.  So computers are tools used to “calculate”. Someone behind them give them a set of instructions so that they can “computare”.

These persons, called coders, give computers all useful information to reach a task, just step by step, teaching them how to create something, in the easiest and simplest way. Just like these machines were little babies learning how to walk.

In a broad sense, you compute and code every day of your life: preparing your daily breakfast, setting the table, organizing your work, choosing a specific fizzy drink among many, a.s.o. It is a question of priorities and decisions you make. The value you decide to give to things all around you.

So I believe it is important to learn how to compute, to code, to evaluate and to judge things. Someone can do it without any help, they are natural. Someone else needs help. They need an outline, so that they can organize not only their daily lives, but also their inner thoughts.

I am one of those persons. If I am the person I am, it is thanks to some teachers that thought me how to evaluate, how to organize my thoughts, all in all how to code. But when I did it, it was thanks to philosophy and by reading books.

But, if you think philosophy is not your cup of tea or reading books too demanding, why not coding? Go coding, I did it!

Well, I am still reading books. Like, a lot of them. I am a serial reader, I can’t stop!

 

 

 

One thought on “Reading A Book or An Hour of Code?

Comments are closed.