reading

Sometimes I would like to stay at home, shut the doors, lock me up in the living room, sit comfortably on my sofa, a cup of tea in my hand and just read-read-read. It is so overwhelming to let myself drift away from the real world into a parallel world where everything can happen and amazing events can occur. And then back to reality!

Whatever the book. Just the thought of relaxing with a book is enough for me. Well, yes, a good book then makes the difference. After so many years, maternity stopped me from reading somehow, I have started reading again a lot of books, like hundred. It is as if books are calling for me, and I have been lucky enough to find out so many memorable books in the last months. If you are curious or you just need a piece of advice, just leave a message and it will be my pleasure to answer you.

But.

1 – Do you like reading? What do you think reading is important for? Do you believe reading is essential for human life? Why or why not? Is reading a passion for you? Or is it just a compulsory school activity? What do you usually read?  Do you prefer short newspaper articles or books? How many books did you read last year? Have you ever read poetry? Have you ever read Shakespeare, for example? Would you like to read Romeo and Juliet or Macbeth? Do you think Italians read enough? What about young people? Why, in your humble opinion, aren’t they interested in reading?

2 – Let’s improve  our creative writing now. Complete these sentences:

Reading may be…
Reading disturbs…

Reading lifts us up from…
Reading let us…
Reading gives us…

3 – TAKE THE SURVEY (fate il sondaggio)

POLL – SURVEY (sondaggio) ON THE TOPIC “READING AND BOOKS”

I am looking forward to read your comments and your poem on the above mentioned topic.

Unfortunately, it seems young people in Italy don’t read enough. 😦 See statistics.

Mrs D.

 

For further study, read the following article:

Pleasure of Reading

Reading may be a compulsion for a school going child, pastime for a retired person, but a pleasure for many. You can discover  a smile on the face of novel-reader, a gleam in the eyes of the reader of a poem and furrow of seriousness on the forehead of a person reading a newspaper report. Reading disturbs mind and heart. Waves of thinking and emotion are generated by reading. So the pleasure is immediate and it continues to linger in the mind.

Reading lifts us up from the harsh realities of life into the world of imagination. The magic touch of fancy transmutes grief into joy, failure into success, pain into pleasure and fear into hope. Even an unhappy man sheds his unhappiness and realities no longer press hard.

Reading gives intellectual satisfaction. A detective novel satisfies the sense of curiosity, serious literature encourages intellectual activity, light literature amuses us and poetry stirs our imaginations. One can relive the past and create the future by reading. By reading books, we enrich our experience and sharpens our judgments. Experience, in its turn, makes us wiser and self-confident.

Books can give company when human beings cannot. We can happily spend our lonely hours in the company of the author-tailored characters. A train journey may be tiresome if we do not have a magazine or a newspaper by our side sleepless nights may not be spent without a mystery thriller.

Reading gives us varied pleasure. A sensuous poet may provide a rich feast for our senses, another may satisfy our aesthetic sense and another may give intellectual edification. Reading gives spiritual, intellectual and even sensuous pleasure.

 

 

44 thoughts on “reading

  1. I undestand reading is important but I think reading is not essential for human life. Reading isn’t a passion to me but I read only for school duty. When I am depressed I sometimes read a book. Usually I read psychologicy books or adventure books, occasionally I read short newspaper articles. Last year I read 4/5 books most of them talks about about psychology. I never read poetry. Shakespeare’s poetry isn’t much interesting to me, I think. Italians, or young people, don’t read very much because they have films instead or they don’t have the desire to read.

    Reading may be interesting
    Reading disturbs nobody
    Reading lifts us up from problems
    Reading let us reflect
    Reading gives us personal knowledge

    Like

  2. I like reading because I can learn a lot but it’s not a passion because I don’t have a lot of free time. I think that it is very important for human life because the writer can transmit all personal experiences on different topic,s for example, about work, family life, school ect. Usually I don’t read poetry or classical poems, but I really like scientists magazine, medical articles and local newspapers. I think in Italy men don’t read enough, because they think it isn’t very important to live, instead Women read more than men.

    Reading may be instructive
    Reading disturbs illiteracy
    Reading lifts us up from others
    Reading let us learn
    Reading gives us culture

    Like

  3. I like reading. I think it is important because it permits you to discover what other people think. I think reading is essential for human life because, with it, you can discover a lot of things. Anyway, reading is not a passion for me but it is neither a compulsory activity. I usually read politics and revolutionary books. I read both short newspaper articles and books because I care only about the content and not about the length. Last year I read three books. I’ve read a lot of poetry and I’ve even written it, I’ve read some pieces of Shakespeare, for example. I would like also to read Romeo and Juliet or Macbeth. I think Italians do not read enough especially young people but it depends on person to person. In my humble opinion, they aren’t interested in reading because they prefer surfing the web rather than reading books.

    Reading may be boring.
    Reading disturbs people who are not interesting and interested.
    Reading lifts us up from ignorance.
    Reading let us to be free and to discover a lot of things.
    Reading gives us the freedom.

    Like

  4. I don’t like reading, but I think it is important to learn new things or to take a break from the real worl. Reading is not a passion for me though but usually I like reading some news from the internet. I don’t really like books I prefer films instead.

    Like

  5. Personally I have never particularly like reading, but I think it’s very important to learn new words and to better speak our own language. just sometimes I read a few articles in the newspapers. I still think reading is relaxing but I do not like reading. It is really tiring. I wouldn’t have the time to read a book. However, in my opinion it is essential for humans. Without reading you would not know even to write and even to communicate with people today.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t like reading but I think it is important to improve your knowledge.
    it’s important because you can learn new things. But I consider it a compulsory school activity.
    I read the Gazzetta, I prefer short newspaper articles to books.
    I didn’t read books last year because I don’t have time to read.
    I read poetry only at school and I have never read Shakespeare.
    Maybe once in my life.
    I think italians can read more.
    For me young people don’t read because tecnologies take the time.

    Reading may be interesting.
    Reading lifts us up from stress.
    Reading let us reflect.
    Reading gives us knowledge. 🙂

    Like

  7. I like reading because I always learn something new. The newspaper is the written thing that I read more often because there are more details that interest me. I prefer reading on paper than on screen because I think the brain is more active. I read books that I naturally project in my mind and whose written scenes I can visualize.

    Like

  8. Reading is important for the culture.
    I like reading especially for relaxing but I don’t read many books in these years.
    The last book then I read was a birthday gift of three or four years ago. I usually prefer reading the newspapers.

    Like

  9. I think reading is important because you learn a lot by reading. I believe that Italians do not read a lot because of the technology. The poems I’ve read at school weren’t so interesting to me and I’ve read a few books because I do not like reading. In any case, it would be smart to read something every day.

    Reading can be joy
    Reading relieves us from a bad day
    Reading leaves us imagination
    Reading gives us inner satisfaction

    Like

  10. I like Reading. I think it is important to expand your vocabulary. I think it is not essential for human life but it is important. This is not my passion. it’s a compulsory school activity.
    Sometimes I read a newspaper and cars magazines. Personally I prefer short newspaper articles. Last year I didn’t read any books. I have never read Shakespeare. I wouldn’t like to read Romeo and Juliet or Macbeth. I think most of the guys prefer to watch TV.

    Reading can be interesting
    Read disturbs my eyes
    Reading relieves us from stress
    Reading leaves us feelings
    Reading gives us the peace of mind

    Like

  11. I’m not a fan of reading, but I think that books are the most important knowledge source that we have.
    If the most important scientists haven’t written their discoveries, probably now we wouldn’t have the advanced technology. So, I like to read those books that talk about the life in general, scientific books (I love those books), important stories that happened in the past. I like to know were I’m living, were is the life coming from, when did it start and so on.
    Well I don’t think that reading is essential for our existence, it’s a choice that a person makes, live knowing “everything” or live just for the existence…

    Like

  12. I like reading, it’s important for the personal knowledge and I think it’s essential for human life to increae our culture.
    For me, reading isn’t a passion, because I read specially newspapers or short stories from the past.
    Personally I think Italians don’t read anything because they prefer watching tv.

    Like

  13. I like reading, i think that reading is important for the mind because through the books, or other things like those, you can learn lots of new words. Reading is essential for human life because there are inscriptions everywhere. I like reading but i don’t think is a passion for me because i like different things. I usually read newspapers. Last year I don’t remember how many books i read but i think 5 books. I read a poetry at school but i don’t like so much poetry. Some young people likes reading a lot but the other half likes it not. People aren’t interested in reading because they depend by social networks, smarphones and other superficial things.

    Like

  14. I don’t like reading. Reading is very important to him enrich our vocabulary. If someone is interested in reading it and read, I think is not important. Reading is not a passion for me. Last year I didn’t read any books. Unfortunately for me it’s a compulsory school activity. The last book I read was whe I was at the primary school. I read some passages from Shakespeare. And I think Italian people do not read enough, maybe they do not have time.

    Reading can be a useful, fun;
    reading maybe helps from stressful days;
    Reading lifts us out of the uncertainty;
    Reading gives us a better expression.

    Like

  15. I am not one who reads a lot, but I know that reading a bookcan do very well, for example: it distracts from everything around yous or just to relax a bit and give outburst to you fantasy,stimulated by reading.
    I think kids today don’t read more only because of technology, for example the tv, console, PC , all those things that “kill” the fantasy of kids and this leads to bored kids who don’t read.

    Like

  16. Reading is very important, even if I just read almost nothing. I think it is important because it helps to talk, to learn new words or to debate on matters. Many say it is better to read a book instead of watching TV, and they are right even though I can’t understand it. In fact, in all my life I have read a few books and some of these I have not even finished reading.

    Like

  17. Frankly I don’t like reading.
    I think that reading is also important to learn news things. Reading is essentianal for human life.
    Because it makes us understand what happens.However, reading is not my passion.
    I Usually read an article on the newspepar.
    Last year I read three books and I read some poetry. Personally, I don’t read Shakespeare but, why not? I would consider reading his poems or a drama.
    Unfortunatelly Italians read very little.
    Because they prefer watching television news and watching a film.

    Reading my be knowledge and relax.
    Reading disturbs people who doesen’t like read.
    Reading lifts us up from moral, mind and mood.
    Reading left us expand the mind.
    Reading gives us strong emotion.

    Like

  18. I don’t like reading but i think is important. I don’t think it’s very important for human life but it’s important I think because is a way to learn new things. Reading isn’t a passion for me at all, I think in fact for me it’s just a compulsory school activity. I usually don’t read and books are only for school. I like reading the newspaper instead books. Last year I never read books or poetry. I don’t know if Italians like reading like a few years ago, and young people too. I think also for the technology, which takes off the books.

    Like

  19. I don’t like reading. But I think reading is important to be intelligent.. I believe reading is essential for human life because without it people would be stupid. Reading isn’t a passion for me but it is a just a compulsory school activity. I usually read at school during the class lessons when the teacher asks me to. I prefer a short newspaper articles. I think that last year I read one single book. I read the poem during the Italian lessons at school but I never read Shakespeare. Personally I am not interested to read Romeo and Giulietta or Macbeth. I think Italians don’t read enough and I think that young people read a lot less other people. I believe they aren’t interested in reading because they think it is boring.

    Reading may be a wonderful adventure where everything can be a fun.
    Reading disturbs the human immagination.
    Reading lifts up us from everyday problems.
    Reading let us daydreaming.
    Reading gives us some wonderful moments.

    Like

  20. Reading is fundamental for today’s society. Nowadays Reading is a vital skill in finding a good job. Reading is important because it develops the mind. I’m a guy who doesn’t read much, but I’m wrong, because as important as it is it would do very well to my mind.
    I read only books at school or maybe the ingredients of some box I have before me only for hobby. My mom, unlike me, reads a lot, she like adventure novels,that she buys or borrows at the library. Said this, I commit myself to read more to train my mind and have the most significant future results.

    Like

  21. I like reading books, especially fantasy, adventure or horror books with compelling stories. I think that reading books it’s very important for our knowledge of our vocabulary of our language.
    I think that there are two types of reading: the must-read and the reading for pleasure and unfortunately school insists in applying the second method, inhibiting the students to read.
    I don’t like newspaper because news are everywhere, on tv, radio ,at the supermarket, on internet, and I don’t need more news.
    Now I don’t read much because I don’t have time and desire to research books but I’m going back to read as it was once, for sure in summer.
    I don’t think Italians read enough because now social networks are replacing books, stealing time to read.

    Reading may be thrilling,scary,exciting.
    Reading disturbs those who do not want to read.
    Reading lifts us up from the real world and takes us to another dimension such as music.
    Reading let us full of stories and things to think deeply.
    Reading gives us the Knowledge that you have the alternative to ignorance.

    Like

  22. I like reading because I think it is relaxing. It is also important for discovering new words and talking better our languages. Reading is more essential in our life because if you can’t read I think you can’t live in this era. For me reading is not a really passion because also I don’t read a lot of books but just two or three in a year. I like reading article of newspaper. I have never read Shakespeare but I read “I promessi sposi” and “La divina commedia”. I think in Italy there are a few persons who like read, and young people consider it something that isn’t needed.

    Reading may be important
    Reading lifts us up from our problems
    Reading let us immagination
    Reading gives us teachings

    Like

  23. Personally, I like reading and I think that reading is important for our mind and for our everyday life, because in my opinion reading gives you many advantages like the intelligence and the capacity of reflect better. For me reading isn’t a passion I can say that is a hobby, I also like reaing newspapers for keep me well informed. Usually I like read some thrillers or action books. Last year I read about five or six books, I have never read poetry like Shakespeare. I also think that Romeo and Juliet or Macbeth are good books but in my opinion are not so interesting. For me, Italians don’t read enough and especially young people because they have to many distractions in this world like the films or other things.

    Reading may open a new world
    Reading disturbs lazy people
    Reading lifts us up from our daily problems and can relax
    Reading let us be more cultured
    Reading gives us the capacity of reflect better

    Like

  24. honestly I don’t like reading, because I find it very boring. But reading is essential for humans, because if nobody had read, we will all be ignorant. I read only at school, I read in my life one book that was beautiful and has just taken me. I prefer to read books because they are more interesting than poetry. I read poems only at school because I don’t like it so much.
    Italians read very little because now we have lost the habit of reading, and this is not good.

    Reading may be a leisure
    Reading lifts up from stressful days
    Reading gives us much relief and peace of mind
    Reading disturbs my eyes
    Reading let us find words

    Like

  25. I don't like reading.
    Many people says reading is important.
    I don't believe reading is essential for human life though, because there are a lot of thinghs that are much more important.
    Reading is not a passion for me, it's a compulsory school activity.
    Sometimes I read a newspaper, mainly football news.
    Last year I didn’t read any book.
    I have never read Shakespeare and I hope that we don't it study at school.
    I don't think that Italian people read enough beacuse nowadays reading is boring.

    Like

    • Sorry, how do you know reading is boring if you don’t read books?
      And sorry, again, to tell you that I am planning on reading a shakespearian sonnet and, if possible, some excerpts from an international acclaimed book with you all. 😎📖

      Like

  26. I don’t like reading, but I think it is important to learn new things or to take a break from the real world. However, I believe reading isn’t essential for human life. Anyway it is important for increasing your fantasy and maybe learning something. For me reading isn’t a passion, I usually just read some news on the newspaper or on the internet. I prefer short articles but with all news, but if I’m interested on the news, I do a little research on the internet. Last year I just read one short book, but I’ve never read poetry or something from Shakespeare.
    I think Italians, especially young people, and me too, don’t read enough, basically beacuse today we have too many distractions, and we prefer watching a film than reading a boring book.

    Reading may be helpful
    Reading lifts us up from sad situations
    Reading let us travel with our mind
    Reading gives us new dreams

    Like

  27. I don’t like reading because I prefer watching a film rather than reading books, but reading is important because you can learn new words and you can improve your imagination or intelligence. I believe reading is important for human life for example if humans read newspapers can be informed about what is happening now.
    Reading isn’t a passion for me because I don’t like reading even if I read some books. I think reading shouldn’t only be a school activity but if someone has the passion for it he should read. When I read I prefer thriller books. I usually prefer to read short newspaper articles because it’s more interesting and faster than books. I read only two books last year. I read some poetry at school but I didn’t like it. I’ve never read any Shakespeare’s drama, for example. I wouldn’t like to read Romeo and Juliet or Macbeth because I consider them not my favourite genre.
    I think Italians don’t read enough, especially young people because new generations prefer watching a film rather than reading a book. They maybe prefer visual and interactive experiences.

    Reading may be nice.
    Reading disturbs lazy people.
    Reading lifts us up from ignorance.
    Reading let us be more interesting.
    Reading gives us the knowledge.

    Like

    • Reading lifts us up from ignorance. That is a good point.
      I think that many young people don’t read books just because, when they were children, nobody gave them good advice. Moreover, nobody in their families or at school read for pleasure and just for the sake of it.

      Like

  28. I do not like reading but I think it usefu, to learn new words and be updated. Although for me it is not important for a human life. It is not my passion but it’s an obligation. If I have to read something and get information I read them on my phone on topics that interest me, such as on a newspaper article or a site. As a matter of, last year I did not read any books and not even poetry. I would not even read a poem. Reading must be a passion and I would not know how many Italians read in their lives, and if young people do not read and all.

    Like

  29. I like reading. I think it is important to get a great knowledge. I think it is not essential for human life but it is important anyway because without reading you can’t have a great culture and you can’t be an interesting person. I don’t read books very often, I prefer newspapers and magazines. I read few poetry because it’s not very common nowadays but I’ve read some of it at school. I think reading shouldn’t be only a compulsory activity but we should read on our own. I think I will hardly read classic books like Shakespeare’s books. I think Italians don’t read enough, especially young people. This is because generally they are lazy and they don’t like culture, they prefer watching TV to it.

    Reading may be cool.
    Reading disturbs silly people.
    Reading lifts us up from ignorance.
    Reading let us be smart.
    Reading gives us culture.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. I personally have never liked reading, I prefer carrying out activities involving creativity or insight. Reading has always been my weak point.
    Reading is important in a broad sense because thanks to it we can learn about what we are doing, such as when we read the assembly instructions of some motor models or drugs.
    I believe that without reading humans would be ignorant, so reading is essential for human life.
    It happens many times that you read, sometimes you do not even notice it. For me IT is not only a school activity. If I could not read at this time of my life I could never decipher the signs from the shops and or any kind of information.
    Reading is something that allows us to understand how we express ourselves in front of other people. I think it’s a positive thing that is continually taught in schools, this will lead to a generation of people with a better understanding.
    Youth today have no desire to read, even when told to do so. I believe that this refusal derives from the fact that they prefer to carry out other activities associating reading with a waste of time.

    Like

  31. I really like reading because I think it is important for learning new things and essential for becoming clever and being updated.
    But for me reading is not a passion as a matter of fact I read only when I am at school. I always read some news from newspaper or I read from school books.
    Last year I read a lot on school books, it was quite interesting. However, I think that young people should read more.
    Reading may be a moment to relax
    Reading lifts up my humor
    Reading let us achieve some life teachings.

    Like

  32. Simone Centis 3A MAT 14/2/2016

    I don’t like reading because I prefer listening to the music. I think reading is important to learn new things and it is essential for human life because it helps become more intelligent. But reading is not my passion just a compulsory activity for school. I usually read the messages in WhatsApp. I prefer reading books but I did not even read one book last year.I didn’t read poetry and no, I never read Shakespeare. Furthermore I don’t care to read Romeo and Juliet or Macbeth. I think Italians don’t read enough. Young people never read because they prefer watching television or playing videogames.

    Reading may be exhausting, but it is important.
    Reading disturbs only when someone reads out loud.
    Reading lifts us up from being lonely.
    We learn many things from reading.
    Reading gives us information and brain training.

    Like

  33. I don’t like reading but I think it’s important for learning new things and it is essential for human life.
    Reading is not a passion for me but usually I like reading some news from the newspaper.
    Last year I read few books and I think young people should read more.
    Reading may be a moment for relaxing
    reading lifts up from the difficult times
    reading let us discover some things that we didn’t know before.

    Like

  34. I don’t really like reading because it makes me bored! But I think that reading is important for human life. Also for reading the news, so you keep yourself updated. I usually read the news because when I go out with my friends while I drink a coffee I read them. I don’t really like books I prefer a film or the news. I also think that young people have to read because I listen to my friends who have some difficulties to read in a broad sense.
    Reading may be a passion or for improve for your personal knowledge;
    Reading disturbs my eyes and my mind;

    Reading gives you some personal soddisfaction;
    Reading let us immagine everithing!
    I don’t know but for me reading is not simply an activity, but a relaxing pleasure.

    Like

Comments are closed.