any ideas on how to speak English without any fear?

Sometimes I wonder how I can get my students (and myself) speak English without being afraid of it. So I was surfing the internet and I found this interesting blog article.

http://www.iwillteachyoualanguage.com/13-ways-to-beat-your-fear-and-start-speakingdo-not-be-afraid-to-speak-english-232x300

Read it! It is really really inspiring and it gives us 13 ideas to improve our speaking abilities/compentences.

I’ll wait for your comments, guys. Are you afraid of speaking (hope not writing!)  a foreign language? Why?

Any suggestions in order to skip this fear?

Ms D.

21 thoughts on “any ideas on how to speak English without any fear?

  1. I’m not afraid to speak English. I see film and TV series in English and I learn a lot to from this I think. I speak English with some friends who are in America and with my uncle who lives in Canada.

    Like

  2. For me not to be afraid to speak in another language even if at the beginning you will make a lot of effort and maybe you will also say the wrong things, but need to be done if you want to learn, can esssere also very important for our’s Future.
    I would be afraid to speak another lenguage but I do it for me and for my future.

    Like

  3. For me it makes no sense to be afraid to speak a foreign language, it is like saying that you have a fear of eating food that we have never seen, or through a new road … is just one thing to do without thinking too much.

    Like

  4. I think other linguages, especially English, they can be useful for the work, for when you go to other countries, for communicate with people and ect.. The people who are afraid or unwilling to learn new linguages i call them ignorant because they don’t want to expand their knowledge and they remain in ignorance. I however, talking personally, afraid to speak another language don’t have it.

    Like

  5. I’m not afraid of speaking foreign languages. English is something that…has the power to remove all the “barriers” and “walls” that can be between populations. You can have green colored skin, for me it doesn’t matter, I don’t see you like a “stranger”, it’s cool to speak with people that live in different parts of the planet, you can learn a lot of things.
    I met a person a year ago, she is from Hong Kong, my first thoughts before I wrote her were: <> so I wrote her… I made a ton of grammar mistakes… but she corrected me and taught me a lot of new words…
    If you want to improve your English, you should definitely meet someone that lives in a different country.
    Ohh and change you phone language to English and also on your pc, that will help you a lot for your glossary improvement.

    Like

  6. I speaking English without any fear but it depends on the person who you are in front of you becouse i don’t know all wards. For example ,when I went to work in this summer I talk with some European client and many times I can’t translate some words from Italian to English, that was a problem becouse I can’t speak twith them with technical terms .
    I think that English is very useful every day in our life. I want to learn English for my future and for personal interesting

    Like

  7. I think that speaking foreing language it’s a very good thing. Especially speak english that all people should know. I’m not afraid to speak another language, i happened to speak another language and sometimes is beautiful not understand other people. In my opinion over study english or another language the people should study dialect because is important know the own tradizione. Nowadays know english it’s very important, now we find everywhere english (for example in electronic device). DO NOT BE AFRAID TO SPEAK OTHER LANGUAGE!!

    Like

  8. good morning;
    I do not like to speak foreign languages ​​, partly because they are not suitable and in fact I can barely speak my language , but this is enough for me , for the rest there is google translator 😅
    Hi, Valentino

    Like

  9. I think that English is the most important language because it allows you to talk to a lot of people in the world. Personally, I am not very good at English, but I can comunicate with the few things I know even if sometimes I’m afraid that people do not understand me. I’d like to improve my English so I can comunicate better .

    Like

  10. I think that people who are frightened of speaking a foreign language are ignorants! I speak Italian, French, Kotokoli (my ethnic language) and a few English and I speak all of these languages fearlessly. I’m happy to speak these languages because they can help me to communicate with other people! I hope Allah will help them to be more self-confident.

    Like

  11. In my opinion, learning a new language is a cultural worth. I always do it willingly! When I learnt Italian it has not been as hard as in English. Speaking a foreign language is not easy because usually you are not sure of yourself. The difficulty also varies from the person who you are in front of because if he or she is an important person, you are afraid of making a mistake and you want to use a linguistic register suited to his character. The most important thing is to always have the courage and to do not get too much influenced by your emotions.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I think that I’m not afraid of speaking a foreign language because speaking a foreign language doesn’t demonstrate that you are weak but it helps you in your life for example Internet is mainly in English. It is also used for communicating with people who speak a language you don’t know. Knowing how to communicate to people who speak a different language can help you to know their cultures and their traditions!

    Liked by 1 person

    • All true. But, what would you suggest to those students who are afraid to speak English? Any useful advice for your fellow schoolmates?

      Like

      • I would suggest them to think only about their goal, which means speaking English well. I’m sure that when they will know how much it is important they won’t be afraid of speaking English anymore.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. I think that speaking English without any fear depends on the person you are (you can either be fearless or not), on your language level and on the person who you are in front of. Sometimes I’m afraid to speak English in front of some people because I know I don’t speak it perfectly and these people point out every mistake I make. Anyway I think that if you are very shy and you can’t speak a language fearlessly you can improve your pronunciation on your own by listening to English media and then, when you are sure your pronunciation isn’t so bad because you imitate the one of the people you listen to in the media, you can speak too fearlessly, and this will be a great step towards the mastering of a language!

    Like

Comments are closed.